Curve Ball

It is 1:00 in the afternoon and I’m sitting in my apartment alone, eating icing from the can… 

I tried to leave this morning to go to the gym. I was really proud of myself for waking up early and starting my day, even though I’m on Christmas break. However, life had other plans apparently. I went to start my car and it wouldn’t start… the battery is going bad, so I’m going to have to get a new one.

Anyways, I instantly got upset. All I wanted was to go to the gym, finish my Christmas shopping, come back home and get ready, then leave for work. But now I don’t even know how I’m going to get to work. Everyone I know is either at work themselves or miles away. So basically it’s another curve ball of life.

I’m not a person who is big on change. (Is anyone, really?) I like to know what’s going on today, tomorrow, and a week from now. When my plans get all jumbled, I usually try to look at it in a positive way and see the bigger picture, but let’s be honest… that doesn’t always happen. A lot of times it’s hard to stay positive when things aren’t going the way you want them to.

And today was one of those days when the positivity had left the building. I’ll admit it, today I stomped, I whined, and I asked God why?  I immediately forgot everything I had been blessed with and thought about the one thing that was going wrong. Yes, the car thing has really put a damper on my plans… but I think the key in that statement is “my plans”. Ultimately, my plans don’t matter. I have to trust that God has a greater plan for me and even when things get rocky, stand firm.

This is one of the most difficult things for me to grasp… how can there be plans for my life, when I don’t even know the plans? Currently, I’m a senior in college, graduating in May 2017. But the thing is I don’t know what I’m doing after college. I don’t have a job lined up. I don’t even have a thought of a job lined up. I’m majoring in psychology and I don’t even know if I want to work directly in the psychology field anymore. There are so many unknowns, which is a scary thing. But I try to remember that most of what I have done so far including college and getting married, wasn’t in my plans… but that’s the way the cookie crumbled.

I had never heard of the college that I’m attending now until a few months before I got accepted and received a scholarship.

I hadn’t even thought about getting married in college… I didn’t even plan on dating in college… and now I’m married.

Anyways, the point is you don’t have to have it all figured out. Things may not go as you plan. Life is going to throw you curve balls. And it’s okay if you get upset, but don’t dwell on it. Pick yourself up and remember there is someone bigger than you, who is taking care of all this craziness. There is a better plan for you. There are great things waiting on you, but you have to be open to them. When one door closes, another door opens… and when it doesn’t, there’s always a window.


“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

One thought on “Curve Ball

Leave a Reply

