OWN IT!

I know you’re out there… Yes, you. The one who gets mistaken for a 12 year-old…. The one that gets carded when trying to buy spray paint… No worries, I feel your pain.

I have dealt with “Chronic Youth Syndrome” (I made that phrase up… feel free to use it, but you heard it here first… Lol) my whole life. When I was 16, they thought I was 12. When I was 18, they thought I was 16. Now that I’m 21, they think I’m 18. Like no, I go to college, I’m married, I pay bills… if you think I’m so young please take care of paying a bill! It’s never-ending. People say I will appreciate it later… and yes I probably will. I won’t deny that, but at this point in time I don’t appreciate it…

I actually got the best compliment the other day… here it goes: “Wow, I thought you were like 25!” Granted, this comment did come from  a 16 year-old boy, but I don’t care. (Lol) People then proceeded to tell the boy that it isn’t polite to tell women how old you think they are, but I responded with: “Really?! Thank you!”

So for those of you (boys and girls, men and women) who struggle with not looking your age, no fear, I have come with some advice:


OWN IT!

Yes, “own it!” I know, you probably thought I had some amazing tips and tricks for making yourself look older, such as makeup, hair, or clothing choices. But no. I mean yes, those things do help. It helps to wear make up and do your hair and wear age-appropriate clothing, but that’s not what you need.

What you do need is to own who you are and carry yourself the way you want to be represented. This goes deeper than just appearing to look your age… this is being confident in who you are and who God is calling you to be. You may look 12, but by golly you don’t have to act 12.

Act the way you want to be represented. Own who you are. If you own it and you believe it, then people will take notice. This isn’t to say people will never mistake your age again, but it will certainly help you to not be brought down by such comments.

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139:14

 

 

Leave a Reply

