College and New Beginnings

So today is my day off work and I’m of course still on Christmas break, so there isn’t much going on. Currently, I am sitting in my living room, watching the bachelor, eating trail mix, and trying to blog…

image1

and I’ll be honest I don’t know yet what I’m going to type… so let me recap real quick.

As you know (or if you don’t know, you can check out my last blog post) I am participating in a 21-day challenge for healthy habits along with @stevie_je and @livingnsunshine.  #notanormalresolution

My resolutions for this year are to:

  • Work out 6 days a week
  • Journal daily
  • Be intentional with prayer
  • Try not to busy myself
  • Spend less money on “stuff”

So far things are going well, but it’s also only day four… You can keep up with my challenge by following me on Instagram.


Any hoo, Let’s get started.

It’s the first week of January and that means classes will soon be starting. The beginning of a semester can be exciting, but it can also be nerve-wracking. Two  years ago, I took a new journey. I decided on the University I would attend and I transferred from my little community college to “big school”. It has been such an amazing experience and here I am now about to start my last semester of college. YESSS!!

When I first decided on going to college, I didn’t know where I wanted to go. I just knew I wanted to go somewhere. No one in my family had gone to college before, so it wasn’t a generational thing where I just knew what I was going to do… But I knew I wanted something different. I wanted to be the first one to go, not only for myself, but also for my younger sisters. I wanted them to know that they could do anything they want to do.

So straight out of high school I decided to go to the community college in my hometown. I attended that school for 3 semesters. Community college was a great opportunity for me, even though  I didn’t stay there for the full 4 semesters. I met new people, I participated in Phi Theta Kappa (an honor society), and I got the chance to visit Memphis, TN and run in the St.Jude 5K.  I also had a great job at a mental health center, where I worked in an after school program. This is when I decided I wanted to major in psychology… yet, I didn’t know where and I didn’t know what exactly I wanted to do.

In my 2nd semester at the community college, I found the University I wanted to attend by searching for christian colleges on the internet. The crazy thing is that it was only an hour and 30 minutes away, in a town that I had been a hundred times before. However, I had  never heard of this University before. The first time I visited I knew that it was the college I wanted to attend next. I just felt an overwhelming peace about it. I even got a scholarship!

prayertower-copy

January 2015 rolled around and it was time to move in to my dorm room. Like I said before, the community college I attended was at home, so I didn’t have to live in a dorm. The dorm room experience was a totally new thing for me and even though I was close to home it was  far away at the same time.

I don’t know if any of you have been here before, but it’s probably the most awkward thing to become a new student in January. It’s a new semester, but most everyone else was a new student in August… not January.So here you are, alone, trying to figure stuff out.

I eventually made some friends (the bestest of friends, btw) and things started to roll. I quickly fell in love with this University and the whole experience.

However, during my 3rd semester at the University, I had a rough time. I was so stressed and it seemed like nothing was going right. But, somehow eventually things slowed down and I was able to find peace. I remember telling myself “the Joy of the Lord is my Strength.” I do believe that is the only way I got through that semester… the Peace of Jesus.

Here I am now, a senior in college and I literally never thought this day would come. I mean you talk about it, you think about it, you hope for it, but then it’s just here. And if you’re like me you have no idea what you want to do next. And that’s okay!

But here’s  what is important: college is a time of growth. If you get the chance you should definitely go. It’s going to be hard. You’re going to cry. You’re going to wonder why you ever started in the first place. But the beautiful thing is that it is a new adventure and you should take all the adventures that you can.

10 things to remember as the semester starts:

  • Actually really study (AKA don’t just study the night before)
  • Hang out with friends
  • Meet new people (something I should probably do more of…)
  • Do something new (ADVENTURE)
  • Have some alone time
  • You don’t need a “ring by spring” (all my ORU people will get this)
  • Talk to your professors (it may actually benefit you)
  • Don’t completely stress yourself out… it isn’t healthy.
  •  You don’t have to know everything… and you won’t know everything. It’s okay.
  • Be YOU

Final thoughts: If you’re worried about this coming semester or if you’re a high school senior worried about choosing a college or if you’re just worried about anything new, don’t. Don’t worry. Find the peace of Jesus and let Him move into you heart. The peace of Jesus is truly an amazing feeling. I promise you won’t regret it.

fullsizerender

Follow me on Instagram for daily updates of my life and to see how the #notanormalresolution is going! @kelsea.mo

Let me know what you think and if you would enjoy more college-related blogs!
(I’ve almost got 4 years under my belt, so I’m kind of a professional… Lol I’m totally kidding. But, really. Let me know!)

 

 

2 thoughts on “College and New Beginnings

  1. I’m going thru and reading all of your posts, since you did the same for me (thank you, by the way). I love that you want to be intentional with prayer and journal daily this year! I also love your tips for college (might have to do a blog post about this)! Being a sophomore, sometimes I feel like I’ve got the whole college thing figured out and then it throws a curve ball. Thank God for God, am I right?! I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

