Update: not a normal resolution

Today is Day 11 of the #notanormalresolution challenge. It’s half way over, so I thought I would share my midway thoughts about the challenge and how I have been doing. You can also checkout Stevie & Maddy (who are other online creators), to see how they are doing with the challenge.

Our hopes for this challenge was that people would join in at the new year and accomplish their resolutions, by turning them into habits. There aren’t as many people as we would have hoped for that joined the challenge, but it’s still a pretty cool thing.
One: It is helping hold me accountable.
Two: It has helped me build connections with other people.
Three: The people who have joined seem to be enjoying it and also seem to be keeping up with their resolutions.
In everything that you do, you have to start somewhere.


I started out strong with working out and journaling.

I haven’t been able to actually make it to the gym everyday, but I have still made time to workout from home. I’ve been mixing my workouts up with cardio, weights, calisthenics, and even some yoga.
I don’t have a set routine yet as far as regimen goes, but I do like to do different types of things so I don’t get bored with it. My husband is totally different… he likes to do the same things weekly, always using weights. Maybe this is why we can’t always workout together?

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

In Maddy’s blog post the other day, she mentioned blogilates by YouTuber Cassey Ho. I have actually done this before, but I had forgot about it! So I’m excited to try it out again. If you need a good at home workout, here you go.

img_1981

As for journaling, this past week I fell off the wagon. But I got back on! Technically I guess I was doing some sort of journaling, because I would take notes on my phone throughout the day when something would happen. I just wasn’t actually writing in my journal in length.


I’m not an expert, but here are some tips for successful exercise & health:

  1. Commit! Write it down and get it in your mind that YOU ARE going to do this.
  2. Accountability! You need a partner. Find someone who will workout with you as well as make sure you are staying  on track!
  3. Drink Water! Seriously, you need water. It helps clean out your system and keep you hydrated! If you’re the kind of person that doesn’t like plain water… try some flavoring. I know people who add real fruits, like lemons or oranges, to give their water more flavor. I’ve never tried it, but I should!
  4. Cut out the sweets! This is where it gets me… I love sweets, but they really just counteract everything you’re working for.
    -I’m trying to monitor my eating. I have cut out candy and junk food and I’m trying to eat better foods altogether. The problem is I’m a snacker. So even though I have found healthier snacks, I still find myself snacking a lot. The next step will be to eliminate this… (One step at a time though, right? LOL


I’m pretty happy with how I am doing with the #notanormalresolution challenge. It feels good to actually workout consistently. That was my biggest struggle… consistency.

I’ve tried to include most of my workouts that I have done in my Instagram posts, so that it might give you some ideas as well. I know there are sometimes when I just don’t know what to do, so I need someone to tell me!

img_2112-2

If you want to jump on the train a little late and join the challenge, feel free. Either way, I hope you are meeting the goals you have set for the new year and are being conscious of your health mentally, spiritually, and physically. Peace Out!

“Now may the God of peace make you holy in every way, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless until our Lord Jesus Christ comes again.”
1 Thessalonians 5:23 

Leave a Reply

