The Rest Can’t Wait \\ Slow Down

It is currently 5 AM as I’m typing this (no, not my normal “wake hour”) and I’m wishing there was technology that could read my thoughts and put them on paper/screen, so that
1. I don’t have to physically get up to do it… and
2. My thoughts go interstate speed limits, while my typing goes city speed limits…


You know when you’re trying to sleep and you’re just wishing your mind would rest, but it won’t… that’s me now.

But as I laid in bed trying to go back to sleep (unsuccessfully), I remembered a period of time this summer when I got “weirdly sick” and was forced to rest. I say “weirdly sick”, because I don’t get sick often and if I do it’s only 1-2 days and over. This time it lasted for a week. I felt fatigue, achy, and had a slight fever.

I don’t like being sick, because it makes me feel limited. I want to be able to “go,go,go” on my own terms, instead of having to slow down.

I was getting frustrated, because I would slow down, begin to feel better, and then naturally I decide it’s time to speed up again. I would then begin to feel sick once again and be forced to go rest. This continued until finally I told my cousin “I feel like God is trying to teach me something… I think He’s teaching me to rest.” After that, I focused more on resting and I slowly began to feel 100%. It was a process (which I’m not a fan of).

It’s important that in our busy lives, we take time to rest.

Work is important. School is important. People are important. But YOU are also important.

You have to take care of you and remember there is a time for go and a time for rest.

It’s okay to rest. It’s okay to have “me time” and be alone. It doesn’t make you a bad person, Christian, friend, mother, etc.

It took me this period of “forceful rest” to understand the importance. It’s not that I don’t like to rest (cause I do), but I want it to be by my choice. And sometimes I forget it’s okay to make that choice.

I got caught up in doing for others, that I forgot to do for myself. We hear it all the time but it’s true… how do we expect to pour into others, if we are empty ourselves? You can’t pour from an empty vessel.

Remember: It’s okay to slow down to “city limits”, find rest, and recharge.


I pray that you may find rest, even in the busiest of days.

Peace out.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

“By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work.” Genesis 2:2

Leave a Reply

