Getting Organized

I’m a pretty organized person and I love when everything is in its place. I can just breathe better.

However, if Im being honest, I am just now getting organized in this new year. I JUST bought a planner for 2017… I’m only a month behind… How many of you are with me?

Anyways, I like to think I function better when I have a visual representation of what needs to be done. For example, a planner with important dates marked and everything color coded.

My husband makes fun of me, because I like to literally write everything down… not just type it in my notes on my phone. However, I have been using my “notes” more lately.

I feel like if I have it wrote down, then it is one step higher in my brain. I can’t tell you how many notebooks I have with random due dates, meetings, and thoughts. So I decided it was time to put an end to the madness… Well we can hope, right?

Like I said, I enjoy organization but even for me the thought of it can be intimidating. There really are so many routes you can take for getting organized. People are different, so it will likely look different for many people.

I just set down at the beginning of February and planned out my semester as best I could. So, I thought I would share with y’all the method I decided to use.


  1. Buy a planner

    I’ve had planners before, but honestly I would either forget about them or get frustrated because I was trying to be organized, but it wasn’t working. I would also buy small planners, therefore there just wasn’t enough space for everything I wanted/needed to put in it.
    So I decided this year I would buy a bigger planner (the size of a notebook). I bought my planner from Marshall’s for $8. If you have never been to a Marshall’s please stop what you are doing and GO. Seriously, I love it so much.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
2. Buy small colorful sticky notes

These sticky notes are a wonderful idea. (I think I first saw a version of this on Nikki Phillippi’s YouTube channel.)
You know those times when you write something in your planner and you either mess up or the event gets cancelled/rescheduled, so then you have to use white out or make an ugly scratch mark?…  Ya… I know that all to well.
These sticky notes now eliminate that, because you can write on the sticky note, stick it in your planner, and then if the date gets moved you just move the sticky note! How cool?!
Also, you can use the many colors to differentiate between various functions. For example: blue=blog posts, pink=school work, orange=church functions, and green=work/random events. (I’m honestly not sure if they make any other colors in the small sticky notes? There have to be some, right?  I’ll have to look.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset3. Put it all together!

This is where things start to come together. All you need to do is look through your schedules and add in all the due dates/important events. There will of course be things that you don’t know about, but just add them as they come along!
Use whatever method you decide on for differentiating various functions, write on the sticky note, and place it in the space. Easy peasy.
If you have 2 different things on the same day (for example, homework assignment is due and a fun event is that night) just overlap the two sticky notes and you can use scissors to cut down the overlapping one so that it doesn’t hang over into the box below.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

4. Use It!

Possibly, the most important part… There’s no point in making it and putting the effort into it if you aren’t going to use it. So just remember to use it and keep it handy. This can potentially save you from overbooking or missing an assignment!

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset


Last Thoughts:
I would like to look for sticky notes that aren’t so bright, because I’m just not one for bright colors. But this is what I had to start with.
Also, I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to rip off the sticky note once the item is complete or just check it off or what? I guess we’ll see what works better.

I hope that this little organizational “tutorial” provides some kind of help or a least entertainment. And don’t worry, if you’re still feeling behind in this new year, you are not alone. I’ve literally seen so many people post “my new year starts February 1st”. So if that’s you, it’s totally okay. Everyday is a new day and it’s never too late to begin again!

If you have any other tips, feel free to share!

Peace Out.

Leave a Reply

