YOU Are Lovely #AllThingsLovely

I am excited to announce that me and Stevie are doing another collab! We decided once a week for the month of February, we would share (on her YouTube & my blog) a reflection from the Bible on love… or “All Things Lovely”.

If you look up the word “lovely”, you will find that it is defined as “exquisitely beautiful”. If you look up the word “exquisite”, you will find that it is defined as “extremely beautiful”. So the way I see it, if something is lovely it is not just one time beautiful, but “beautiful beautiful”. Keep this in mind for this month’s series of LOVE.

We will be posting on Wednesdays (2/1, 2/8, 2/15, 2/22) except for the last week, we will post on a Tuesday (2/28) since it is the last day of February.

We created a devotion style message to share with all of you and we really hope you enjoy it! We will be covering the same topics, but the actual content may look different. So be sure to check out both her YouTube and my blog!

Go ahead, take notes and share with your friends.


Devo 1: YOU ARE LOVELY

Today, we’re talking about the fact that “we”, “you”, “mankind” are lovely. To reiterate, lovely means exquisitely beautiful. So here it is: YOU ARE EXQUISITELY BEAUTIFUL.

At first glance, we think of beauty being about outward appearance only, but there is so much more to it. The loveliness of ourselves includes our WHOLE being.
Song of Solomon says it best “You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.” (Song of Solomon 4:7)

Yes, he was talking about his bride in this particular passage, but I think we can look at this from another perspective. God looks at His bride (the church…us) as being lovely.

It says in Genesis 1:31 that God saw what He created and it wasn’t just good, but it was “very good”. Everything that God created was good, but for us He went the extra mile and called us “very good”.


Psalm 139 is a beautiful chapter to focus on to really grasp the loveliness of ourselves. From beginning to end it talks about how God knows us and how He created us.

It can be difficult to see ourselves as beautiful sometimes. People can tell us everyday that we are beautiful, but at the end of the day we still look in the mirror and wonder what people see that is beautiful. I know I’ve been there and sometimes that thought still creeps up in my head every now and then.

I know there are many who struggle with body image. This struggle attacks many, not just teenage girls. I actually wrote my entire senior paper (40 pages) over self-esteem and research shows that even males struggle with self-esteem. It’s just not as “socially acceptable” for this to be so.

So how do we combat this idea that our bodies are ugly, unacceptable, and flawed?

I think the first step is to recognize that God gave us this body and He has called us beautiful. Specifically, Psalm 139:13-14 says “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” 

God knew us before we were born. God specifically created you and me for a purpose. He designed us to look the way we do for a purpose. There is purpose behind everything that God does. How lovely is it that God was thinking of you and me with purpose? 

There are a lot of times that we feel alone and this is what leads to us not feeling adequate enough in our own bodies, but we need to remember that God created us with purpose and He took the time to specifically think about “you”.

Try writing Psalm 139:14 on your mirror. (I do this.) Every time you look in the mirror then, you will see that God says you are “fearfully and wonderfully made”. When the enemy begins to attack your mind and tell you that you aren’t worthy, you aren’t beautiful, you aren’t smart; you can combat the enemy with this verse.

God thinks you are  beautiful and if He thinks so that should be enough, because after all He is our creator and He called us “very good”.


Another important factor in grasping that you are lovely is to take captive every thought (2 Corinthians 10:5) and guard your heart (Proverbs 4:23). 

The things that we think are what we become. If we are thinking negatively about ourselves and other people then we become negative people. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be known as a negative person. I have my moments of negativity, trust me, I’m human. We’re all going to have our moments when our thoughts are not so lovely, but I think what will set us apart is in realizing when we’re being negative and turn it around.

We can either choose to dwell in negativity or we can choose to put those thoughts away and think about things that are positive.

Philippians 4:8 is one of my favorite verses. It says, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” 

Sometimes, we just need to readjust our mindset and think on things that are lovely, so that we can become lovely ourselves.

..Think about someone who you admire… what do you like about that person? Most likely it is going to be a positive characteristic and not a negative one.

I’m not saying we don’t all have some negative characteristics, but ultimately  what I’m saying is in order to combat the negativity we need to change our mindset to think about things that are lovely.

If you think good and lovely thoughts, you will be a good and lovely person.


Big Take Away:

You are lovely, because God created you to be so. He created everything to be good… and us well, we are “very good”.

This world has some not so lovely things about it and since we are in this world (but NOT of it) then we can get sucked into the ugliness of the world. We are tainted, but praise Jesus that He came and died for our sins, so that we could be flawless and above all lovely.

Take Away Verses: Song of Solomon 4:7, Psalm 139:14, Philippians 4:8


There will be times when you don’t feel that you are encompassing all things lovely, but the important thing is to get back to Christ and remember that He created you fearfully and wonderfully and you are altogether beautiful.

I pray that you found this reflection to be both helpful and encouraging. Please let me now what you think in the comments and if you need any prayer send me an email! (kelsea.moriah@gmail.com) Check back next Wednesday for devotion number 2!

Peace Out.

 

Leave a Reply

