Exquisite Scars || #AllThingsLovely

Quick update: So I didn’t know if I was going get the chance to finish this blog post. This weekend was busy. My husband and I took our youth group to an event called Winterfest, which was a lot of fun, but it always makes you super tired. Then, on Saturday I found out my great grandpa wasn’t doing well and he probably wouldn’t make it. He ended up passing away Sunday morning. Then, on Sunday afternoon I found out my aunt had a heart attack and she passed away also. These two family members were on the same side of the family, so it was definitely a shock. If we’re being honest, I don’t do well with death or comforting others during these times. It makes me feel awkward, but at the same time (if you’ve ever been in a similar situation) you just feel like you need to be near the people you love, even if you have absolutely no idea what you’re doing. So that’s what I did… I went home for a day, just hung out, and tried to help. It’s still not over though, the funerals will both be on Friday. So prayers for family are appreciated.

Now let’s get into today’s devotion for the #AllThingsLovely series.


“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may also be revealed in our mortal body. So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.”
2 Corinthians 4:7-12

Today, we’re taking about scars. I’m sure we all have some kind of physical scar on our bodies. I have a few. I have one above my eyebrow from a chalkboard eraser that was thrown at my head by my cousin… (I think (hope) it was an accident though. HaHa.) I have one on my elbow, which I think is from climbing a tree when I was younger. I also have one below my belly button that came from a sore that was infected. Lastly, I have one on my chin from when I fell off my bike. There may be more, but these are the ones that I remember.

Any hoo, scars usually come after our bodies have gone through some kind of pain. But, how many of you feel pretty cool after you’ve got a scar? These scars give us a story and they remind us of pain that we have overcome.

This is exactly what emotional/spiritual scars are like. You may have scars from past relationships or things that people have spoke over you or even things that you have spoken over yourself. These painful things that we go through cause scars in our hearts and souls. But unlike our physical scars, we don’t like to show these off. Instead, we cover up. We hide the scars that have made us into the person we are today. We may feel shame from our scars and we may feel defeat from our scars. It takes a lot to feel victorious over our emotional/spiritual scars, but lets take a look at this story from the Bible.

Now Thomas (also known as Didymus, one of the Twelve), was not with the disciples when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.”A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” John 20:24-29

In this story, we see the scars that tell the most amazing story ever. God did not retouch the image of Jesus after the pain he went through. Jesus showed his scars to Thomas to prove that he was who he was and he has survived the hell brought against him.

“The scars are an intentional part of the testimony. Scars prove you aren’t bleeding anymore.”
– (Eric Gilbert) 

The scars that you have, testify that you have survived. They testify that you were healed. They testify that you have a story. The scars are an important part and they shouldn’t be covered up, removed, or retouched. Without the scars you lose a significant part of your story.

Your scars are exquisite. If you remember back to the first devotion of the month, exquisite means extremely beautiful. Your scars are a part of you, whether they be physical, emotional, or spiritual. In every way they make you who you are and that is beautiful.

Let this be encouragement to show your scars, be vulnerable, and use them as your testimony. Instead of feeling shame and hiding behind them, boast in the fact that you are not where you were before. Jesus has helped you overcome these scars and just like Jesus, you can use your scars to help others believe.

Peace Out.

Leave a Reply

