Lessons From My Mama

My mom or my mama is one of the greatest people I know. She is part of the reason why I am who I am. Although I wouldn’t call her normal (Love you mother), she has definitely been a stable rock for me, my sisters, and my dad. I thought I would share a few lessons that she has taught me throughout my life in honor of Mother’s Day.


  • Thrifting is a way of life

    One of our favorite things to do is go to antique shops, thrift stores, or any other place with wonderful sales. She has helped give me a great love for thrifting and living more simply. She has taught me that you don’t need all the expensive things in life to be happy. As we were growing up we didn’t always have the nicest/most expensive things, but we always had what we needed plus some. I was always amazed at how that could happen. So remember… the monetary stuff in this life is not where you find happiness, you find happiness first through Jesus and second by being true to who you are.

  • You can make something out of nothing

    My mom is one of the best at making something out of nothing. She’s always trying to be innovative and use things for a different purpose. (She got this from her grandpa/my great grandpa.) If there isn’t a use for it anymore, she will find a new use for it. (Example: she made a dog collar out of old jeans…)

  • Be real

    My mother is an honest person. She would say it is a lack of filter, but I would say it’s honesty. Obviously, we must monitor our words and be sure that they are bringing life to others and not bringing them down, but that also requires honesty and integrity. We must be able to be real with people in order for them to take us seriously. If we are constantly pretending to be someone we’re not, we won’t be happy and no one will know who we truly are.

  • Just go with it

    My mom is the kind of person who will navigate around, not knowing exactly where she’s going, but pretending she does. She won’t say she doesn’t know where she’s at. She’ll just wing it, until she finds the answer. In the same way, she doesn’t measure ingredients while cooking. It’s a little of this, a dash of that, a tad bit more, etc. From this, she has taught me to be a little more care free and that going with the flow is okay sometimes.

  • Don’t lay down. Stand tall

    As nice and as quiet as my mother is, she is also headstrong. She has taught me to speak up when I truly believe in something. If there is a problem, she will try to fix it. If there is something she really wants, she is going to go after it. She is a perfect mixture of quiet and bold. She knows when to speak up and when to shut up. Because of her, I don’t let people walk over me. I like to believe I take on this headstrong quality as well and I owe it all to her.

  • Be like Jesus

    My mom is not perfect, but she tries to be Christ-like. She raised my sisters and I in church, she taught us to be respectful and caring, and she taught us sacrificial love.  My dad has diabetes and it has been a challenge in our family. My mom has helped care for him sacrificially for 23 years, even when it got hard. My mom is a hard worker. She is diligent. She thinks of others before herself. And I look up to her for that.

“She is clothed with strength and dignity,
    and she laughs without fear of the future.” Proverbs 31:25


I’m sure there is more that she has taught me throughout my 22 years of living, but this is it in a nutshell. I’m so very thankful that I was blessed with a great mother who loves Jesus, who cares, and who shows compassion. I know that not everyone has this in their life and my heart breaks for you. Just remember that you can break the cycle. You can be a great mother, even if that was not something you had in your life.

If you do have a mom or a mom-like figure in your life, remember to tell her how much you love her. You may not be the kind of person to vocally say it, but use a card or some flowers or even food! Moms are a blessing. They are given to us so that they can nurture, teach, and care for us. But likewise, the Bible tells us to give honor to our parents. So let’s remember to give honor to our parents in the way we live our lives, because then we will also be honoring our Lord.

“Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.” Exodus 20:12

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

